Mehlville School District's Teacher of the Year builds lasting, meaningful relationships with students

Mehlville School District's Teacher of the Year builds lasting, meaningful relationships with students
Posted on 04/26/2022
Mehlville School District Teacher of the Year Josh GrohOakville Elementary School third-grade teacher Josh Groh has been named Mehlville School District’s Teacher of the Year for the 2021-2022 school year.

Groh has spent his 13-year teaching career at Oakville Elementary School. Before teaching third grade, Groh taught fourth grade and second grade. Regardless of the role, he has always worked to provide unique, memorable learning opportunities for his students.
Mehlville School District Teacher of the Year Josh Groh
IMAGE: Josh Groh is named Mehlville School District Teacher of the Year on April 25, 2022. Pictured (left-to-right): Jeff Bresler, Assistant Superintendent; Scott Huegerich, Board Director; Jean Pretto, Board Secretary; Tori Behlke, Board Vice President; Peggy Hassler, Board President; Josh Groh, Oakville Elementary School teacher; and Dr. Chris Gaines, Superintendent)

“Josh creates great relationships with his students and families,” said Meagan Ochoa, Oakville Elementary School principal. “The kids really enjoy being in his third-grade classroom because he provides opportunities for student voice in learning and for the development of collaborative skills.

Even more than the lessons he teaches them in the classroom, Groh strives to build meaningful relationships with each of his students. He has reached students outside of his classroom by serving as a sponsor of extracurricular activities, including Girls on the Run and Garden Club.
Josh at Tremont Institute
Image: Groh visits the Tremont Institute with Oakville Elementary School students in spring 2022.

“My favorite part of the job is the kids,” said Groh. “I love coming to work and seeing how excited they are to enter the classroom to figure out what we’re doing to be doing that day. I love their excitement and passion. It’s the best part of my day.” 

Groh’s hard work has been noticed throughout the Oakville Elementary School community. 
Josh Groh reviews student's work

Image: Groh reviews a student's work.

“He is an advocate for his students, parents and the staff,” said Lori Irvin, Oakville Elementary first-grade teacher. “Any third-grader hopes to have Mr. Groh as a teacher.”

Groh was named Oakville Elementary School Teacher of the Year and was announced as the 2021-2022 Mehlville School District Teacher of the Year at the district’s Recognition Night ceremony on April 25.

“We have amazing teachers throughout Mehlville School District, and Mr. Groh represents the best of the best,” said Dr. Chris Gaines, Superintendent. “He is a master at enthusiastically engaging students in meaningful learning. Students in this teacher’s classroom unequivocally know they belong, are cared for and are safe.”

Watch the video below to learn more about Groh and hear what his students have to say about him. 


Teachers and Classified Employees of the Year
2022 Teachers and Classified Employees of the year from each of our schools were honored at our Recognition Night ceremony. Congratulations to all of these incredible members of the Mehlville School District family! View photos from the event.

Teachers of the Year
- Mehlville Early Childhood: Laura Sebastian, itinerant teacher
- Beasley Elementary: Emily Scott, counselor
- Bierbaum Elementary: Katie Schmidt, academic interventionist
- Blades Elementary: Keddie Weil, kindergarten teacher
- Forder Elementary: Dr. Jamie Suthers, first-grade teacher
- Hagemann Elementary: Jessica Baalmann, English-learner teacher
- MOSAIC Elementary: Amela Cikota, art teacher
- Oakville Elementary: Josh Groh, third-grade teacher
- Point Elementary: Melissa Vandeven, fourth-grade teacher
- Rogers Elementary: Emily Harris, academic interventionist
- Trautwein Elementary: Julie Tannehill, first-grade teacher
- Wohlwend Elementary: Karen Hoover, counselor
- Bernard Middle: Sara Miner, STRETCH teacher
- Buerkle Middle: Angela Marshall, English-language arts teacher
- Oakville Middle: Sarah Polanc, English-language arts teacher
- Washington Middle: Diana Wiegner, special education teacher
- At Home: Nicole Spruell, physical education and health teacher
- Mehlville High: Amy Bush, social studies teacher
- Oakville High: Matt Schraut: industrial technology teacher
- SCOPE: Ryan Boyd, teacher

Classified Employees of the Year
Mehlville Early Childhood: Stephanie Hettich, paraprofessional
- Beasley Elementary: Vicky German, administrative assistant
- Bierbaum Elementary: Maureen Walkenback: Special School District paraprofessional
- Blades Elementary: Lori Horn, substitute teacher
- Forder Elementary: Melanie Domkoski, cafeteria recess monitor
- Hagemann Elementary: Andrea Kuehn, nurse
- MOSAIC Elementary: Rodney Price, custodian
- Oakville Elementary: Jackie Rebhan, administrative assistant
- Point Elementary: Cathy Poole, administrative assistant
- Rogers Elementary: Bailey Kaminski, cafeteria recess monitor
- Trautwein Elementary: Anne Kozeny, nurse
- Wohlwend Elementary: Steve Aubuchon, paraprofessional
- Bernard Middle: Brenda Vogt, food services technician
- Buerkle Middle: Donna Tuegel, paraprofessional
- Oakville Middle: Eileen Mayberry, nurse
- Washington Middle: Kerry Berberich, administrative assistant
- Mehlville High: Shelly Herman, attendance secretary
- Oakville High: Keri Komorowski, attendance secretary
- SCOPE: Sharon Owens, administrative assistant
- Central Office: Angie Burns, payroll manager
- Facilities: Maria Furman, administrative assistant
- Transportation: Dawn Klemp, school bus monitor

View a playlist of videos honoring the district’s teachers and classified employees of the year.

The Mehlville School District strictly prohibits discrimination and harassment against employees, students or others on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, age, disability, or sex including pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity and other characteristics protected by law. The following individuals have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: contact Adam Smith at 314-467-5006 or [email protected].